Institute of Physics is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics.

Crystallography has a traditional strong position within the Institute. Department of structure analysis is a world-wide leader in crystallographic computing (Programs Jana2006, Superflip and Dyngo), and in analysis of standard, modulated and magnetic structures from X-ray, electron and neutron diffraction.

Department of structure analysis also provides high throughput crystallographic services for universities, research institutes and companies. As a part of this service, we have been developing a scalable online system LabTidy for sample management, which is nowadays a core program for an efficient organization of research in crystallographic laboratories of the department.